• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Need help with pepper plants

Hi everyone,

This is my first time growing peppers and everything has been going fairly good. But this week I have noticed some issues with some of my plants and I was wonder if someone could help me figure out what is wrong with them.

The issue that I am having is leaf curling. Has seen in the image below:

oBkceMY.jpg

This plant is by far the worst. I think from something else that I read in this forum that the issue maybe that the plant needs calcium. And when I check the potting soil that is was in (Miracle Grow, moisture control) it didn't have any calcium or magnesium in it. If anyone has any other ideas, please let me know.

The other thing that I just saw day, is a thinning of the leaves. It is mainly in spots on some of the bigger leaves. Here is a picture:

bs4Fu8e.jpg

tSQGEbE.jpg

I am thinking that this maybe caused by the lights being too close to the plants and burning the leaves, but I am not sure. Any ideas?

For some background information. I am currently top watering and I only water the plants when the soil looks dry. I have not used any fertilizer yet. So they just have what is in the potting mix. I have a fan running on them, but it is set low has I have had some issue with some of the plant falling over and I don't want to stress them too much. For lighting I am using a single T5 grow light. This is what my set up look like right now:

FU9jgoO.jpg

Any help would be great. Thank you!

IIRC...Leaf curl/clawing is from too much nitrogen... I see your MG soil has granular fertilizer in it...
Might be your culprit...

Babysas said:
IIRC...Leaf curl/clawing is from too much nitrogen... I see your MG soil has granular fertilizer in it...
Might be your culprit...
I think this is perlite, not fertilizer