• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Green variety thoughts.

Going to use Early Jalapeno as an example because I have some experience with it.  Towards the end of the season when frost is right around the corner, mine will throw some red pods when I leave them on the plant well past when I should.  So I wonder if the things we generally consider to be green chili are ones that take a long ass time to ripen into red or those whose red phase only comes out when conditions are so close to the ones tht kill them.

Thoughts?

Yep. Jalapeno, serrano, green bell pepper, green Thai chiles, and so on are just sold unripe.
Oh, and yeah, I've noticed pods ripen faster at the end of the season. Pods must be ripe (or close to it) to produce viable seeds, so I think it's a survival thing probably triggered by cool temps or stress to hurry up and reproduce. That's really the end goal of most living things, to reproduce.

I agree that plants start to produce more ripe peppers more quickly toward the end of the season, but I think this might be due to the fact that they are more mature and just starting to hit their prime right about the time the frost hits....   Because given the right conditions peppers are perrenials, they would continue to grow into trees if the frost didnt kill them.  Sadly our grow season in the north is too short for us to get the most out of the plants.

Thinking temperature has a great deal to do with it also.  Yes, genetics, but genetics that cause the chlorophyll to die off at certain temperatures.  Am thinking that when the chlorophyll (green stuff) dies off the color underneath them comes out.  So maybe the things we think of as reds are things whose chlorophyll dies off at a higher temperature than those things we consider to be greens. 

Does that make any sense or am I barking up the wrong tree?