• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

New Grower in Sacramento,CA

i have been on this forum for years but am finally in a spot where i can grow what i want.

We will be growing the following plants in pots:

Peach Habanero
Yellow Scotch Bonnet
Chocolate Scotch Bonnet
Carolina Reapers

I am a total newb to growing peppers but have grown many veggies throughout my lifetime. I know in my area i will be needing a sun shade of sorts after that i am open to any and all suggestions.

I need help in the following for sure:

1. Proper soil/medium mixtures - there is so much info it can get overwhelming at times.

2. Proper fertilizers 

3. Local trusted gardening suppliers

You can take any off-the-shelf potting mix and have good results. It sort of depends on how deep down the rabbit hole you want to go. I would suggest asking around local nurseries if they have a "house mix" and adding about 1/4 to 1/3 that volume of perlite and the recommended amount of Espoma Tomato Tone. That may be the cheapest and easiest way to go.

suchen said:
You can take any off-the-shelf potting mix and have good results. It sort of depends on how deep down the rabbit hole you want to go. I would suggest asking around local nurseries if they have a "house mix" and adding about 1/4 to 1/3 that volume of perlite and the recommended amount of Espoma Tomato Tone. That may be the cheapest and easiest way to go.
That's what we were going to do is go to a local nursery to see what they had kicking around and could recommend...i want close to the best as i want to start off with the proper stuff so i am not trying to fight another problem if i cheaped out in the beginning.

You can't go wrong with Fox Farm Ocean Forrest for container growing. It shouldn't need any added nutes for a couple months.

hogleg said:
You can't go wrong with Fox Farm Ocean Forrest for contain growing. It shouldn't need any added nutes for a couple months.