• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

soil What soil mix is the best for root pouches/smart pots?

This is my first year using fabric pots. I am using straight Hyponex soil in some of mine and everything seems to be going well so far. In some pots I am using a mix of half new Hyponex soil and half soil that I used last year. The half and half mix seems to dry out a little bit slower than the straight potting mix.

I use coconut coir, compost and perlite 40%/30%/30%. But I have my root pouches sitting in a raised bed with a pond liner in it, so the water goes back in the bottom after it drains out.

Dr.Pepper said:
This is my first year using fabric pots. I am using straight Hyponex soil in some of mine and everything seems to be going well so far. In some pots I am using a mix of half new Hyponex soil and half soil that I used last year. The half and half mix seems to dry out a little bit slower than the straight potting mix.

Unfortunately Hyponex soil isn't available in my area, only Vigoro, Nutrigarden and the usual MiracleGrow mixes.

DawgNutts said:
I use coconut coir, compost and perlite 40%/30%/30%. But I have my root pouches sitting in a raised bed with a pond liner in it, so the water goes back in the bottom after it drains out.

Interesting! I have my root pouches on the floor but that info might be useful someday.

Really depends on your individual environment .
I live in Florida where it is always hot and humid .
My containers dry out super fast .
I tried using them and quickly learned it was not for me . 

I guess you could experiment with several soils and see which works best ?
You can always add per-lite or pine bark to reduce a soil that is holding  too much water and or not drying out fast enough .