• Politics are not permitted. There's plenty of places to discuss that elsewhere, and a hot pepper forum is not the place. Thank you for respecting the community!

Florida Oyster Mushroom? Any mycologists here?

I found what I believe to be a pleurotus florida aka florida oyster mushroom. It was on a log of my moringa that I cut down. I'm fairly certain it's the right ID, but i'm no expert and don't want to ingest something poisonous. I don't see any info about copycats....so here are the pics. 

20150831_150432.jpg

20150831_150349.jpg

20150831_150340.jpg

Disclaimer: Consuming wild-harvested foods always carries a risk of misidentification that could result in serious injury or death, even with the advice of a professional, but especially without it. Anyone choosing to do so does so at their own risk. 

As it happens, when my fellow English majors were taking Underwater Basket Weaving for their electives, I took a bunch of upper-division science courses, including Mycology. There's a saying among wild mushroom enthusiasts: "There are two kinds of foragers: adventurous ones, and old ones." I have taken great pains to be one of the latter.

My advice would be to first take a spore print. Lay a piece of plain white printer paper on a dinner plate and put your sample, gills down, on it. Put a bowl over it, put it in the fridge, and leave it undisturbed at least overnight. The spores will collect on the paper; the color of the spore print is often useful in keying out mushrooms.