• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

indoor Indoor polination

So I'm growing a few varieties of peppers in my house through the winter season. I currently have my first pepper plant (bisbas) starting to flower. I was wondering if there was anyway to polinate the pepper indoors? I tried this last year with no luck by taking a cotton swab from flower to flower. Also it's sitting near my habenero plant that is also flowering. So I want to avoid cross Polination if possible.

drumroll the main stems with two fingers when you got flowers open for a few seconds, im not talking about the trunk

When you say you had no luck with cotton last year you mean flowers didn't set? This is my first year growing and when a flower doesn't set I don't know how to tell if it didn't pollinate or if it had some other problem, but i've found that most flowers set pods by themselves even if they are indoors without airflow or bugs or me doing anything about it.

I'm afraid of cross polination between the hab and bisbas so maybe I'll just try the shake method. And by cotton swab I mean I took a cotton swab and swabbed every flower to spread the pollen.

I use a fan pointed at my plants when my chinenses and baccatums are flowering indoors, and have had good success with that. Plus, the wind strengthens the branches for when it's time to go outside, and the fungus nats hate the fan. I use the cotton swab technique with indoor pubescens, plus I also grow the rocoto literally right next to each other so that their branches inter mix. That way I can rub flowers from different plants together, which works pretty well. Obviously the success rates are way worse for me indoors than outdoors. Indoors I would say I get like 50% flower drops on the chinenses and baccatums, and 60%-75% flower drops on the pubescens. It's still nice to have some fresh pods to munch on in the winter, so totally worth it.

rkempston said: