• Politics are not permitted. There's plenty of places to discuss that elsewhere, and a hot pepper forum is not the place. Thank you for respecting the community!

Pepper experts and celebrities?

If you have been around for any time, you know there are certain names that are very well known in the pepper genre of online forums and facebook pages.  Celebrities almost.  Many thought to be pepper experts.  I just ran into one of the experts who claims DNA will prove that most of the Trinidad peppers come from China.  As many people know, the term chinense in the name of many peppers comes from a mistake made by a botanist many hundred years ago.

I am no expert.  Not trying to say oh look at me or anyone else for that matter.  Just wondering why it is that the more I read statements made by so many pepper celebrities, the so called experts, why is it that I keep finding more and more that the things they say are often complete bunk?  Contrast that to everyday forum members here at THP who more often than not hit the nail right on the head, providing very useful and accurate information.

It is really weird.

ajdrew said:
If you have been around for any time, you know there are certain names that are very well known in the pepper genre of online forums and facebook pages.  Celebrities almost.  Many thought to be pepper experts.  I just ran into one of the experts who claims DNA will prove that most of the Trinidad peppers come from China.  As many people know, the term chinense in the name of many peppers comes from a mistake made by a botanist many hundred years ago.