• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Hot Sauce Rookie and 'start-up' cost

All right. So I'm thinking of taking the leap and making my own hot sauce for fun. Maybe profit, but I think the latter is WAAAAY out of my reach.

Anyway, I'm also a complete rookie in the kitchen. If it weren't for my wife, if live and die by the microwave.
I'm trying to see how much (monetarilly) and how many things I would need in order to start up making my own hot sauces.

I hope this is an appropriate question. I've been lurking in the forums and it seems like one would need to acquire a not insignificant amount of things to do this.

I know with any hobby you have to pay to play, but I'm a bit lost as to what I would need to start and how much it would probably cost.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

By pink salt you mean Himalayian and not salt peter, right?

Yea that's the stuff
And if its just a hobby for friends and family there is nothing wrong with using Ball 4oz - 8 oz canning jars.

Ball Jars been doing this food storage a long time

The important thing about the salt is that it NOT be idozized, as that can result in nasty discoloration of the finished product. I use Korean sea salt, simply cause I have3 pounds of the stuff on hand from kimchi making. If I didn't have that I'd use the himalayan pink, or any sea salt that had no additives. Not sure if anti caking agents are a problem, but I like the idea of minimizing man made additives.

You can definitely acquire the stuff piecemeal. I have / am.

My only comment is---

don't put the cart before the horse.  If you want to go into the hot sauce business and be successful, first you need a Kick-Ass hot sauce!  One that everyone is clamoring for at every get together.  One your family members want to get as a Christmas gift.  One your co-workers hope you are their Secret Santa for.