• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

greenhouse new to a greenhouse and hot peppers

Just bought a greenhouse, 10 long 7 wide 6 tall.. i have never grown in a greenhouse before and I'm looking to grow a variety of hot peppers this year. I took a shot at it last year when i lived in ohio and then moved to nc after mid season and could only take a couple of plants with me... so that being said i am relatively new to this. I know last year transplanting them and taking them 500 miles pretty well shocked my plants i did take and took them forever to recoup. Shouldn't have that this year!

I now live in nc and the only place i can put my garden is in my upper drive way because that is the only place i get sunlight throughout most of the day. What all do i need to watch when i am growing in a greenhouse? Are there at certain temps that i should me looking for or humidity levels? I'm going to create my own mister by taking a hose and popping a bunch of pin holes with a large sowing needle to try and keep cost down. But what all should i think about putting in it.

Right now the list of peppers i have are peach ghost scorpions, scotch bonnets, white carolina reapers, red carolina reapers, red ghost peppers, white ghost peppers, devils tongue, peter peppers, chocolate scorpion, and habaneros... Should be a fun growing season.

need  to watch temps can get really hot in a greenhouse if you don't have an intake / exhaust aka open a window.
In the summer you will have to leave the door open or open more windows or sides whatever you got. 100f outside means its like 120+ in greenhouse (this hurts the plants)

Putting a couple of fans near the entrance blowing on the plants would be benificial wouldn't it? Helping to keep the plants cool but also providing some wind to help strengthen the stems? Or am i wrong on that

kieansdad said: