• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

Easy Orange Hab Sauce

Hi All. It's going to be a long while before my pepper harvest. I'm a complete sauce noob and i'd like to cut my teeth on an easy recipe for the fridge(nonferment).

unfortunately all i have access to at the local store is OrangeHab, fresno, green jal, and maybe some serranos. I've done some googling and found some recipes with orange hab, carrots, onions and garlic(sounds good, yum).But I thought I'd ask here to see if anyone with more experience has a standby recipe before i run off and try some foodie blogger's recipe of the day.

Thank you!

you can use habs interchangably in recipes, flavor will be a bit different but thats fine for trying out sauces. can always tweak them a bit.

there are plenty habanero recipes if you do a search..
i like the mango / pineapple sauce, is fun to have a fruity sauce.

http://thehotpepper.com/topic/31780-orange-habanero-and-mango-sauce/?hl=%2Borange+%2Bhabanero

http://thehotpepper.com/topic/50693-tims-habanero-sriracha-style-hot-sauce/?hl=+orange%20+habanero

http://thehotpepper.com/topic/21371-caribbean-red-sauce/page-2?hl=%2Borange+%2Bhab#entry1212274

Something you can do if you want to have a more complex flavor is experimenting with fermenting the ingredients.   It is not as complex as it sounds when you first dive in.   You just have to pay attention to the weights of your ingredients.  

Juanitos is extremely knowledgeable and I would trust his thoughts. Habaneros, like ghost peppers (Bhuts), are extremely versatile. 

I'd do green sauce

Habaneros
Serranos
Tomatillos
Cilantro
Lime Juice
Salt
Carrots
Onion
I'd also throw in a lil Avocado too!

Vicious Vex said: