• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Cactus mix for peppers?

I was looking to make my own soil mix with some course builders sand, perlite/vermiculite, compost, and potting mix from the soil sticky.

The lady at Home Depot said just get cactus mix - http://www.promixgardening.com/en/product/detail/pro-mix-specialties-cactus-mix - it wasn't this brand but had a similar composition.

She said it's what she uses for her peppers (jalapeños, habs, poblano, Serrano, etc., no superhots) and it works great since it's free draining and fairly course to provide a lot of airspace.

Has anyone ever tried this or have any thoughts on how it might work? Would using part cactus mix and part regular potting soil work?

Thanks!

I've no direct experience, but have read several testimonies that suggest cactus mix does indeed work well with peppers.
It's fairly fluffy, which is what peppers like.
Yea, you can mix the cactus (or just some extra peat if you like) with 'normal' potting soil to good effect.

it would probably work. but you will need to add ferts of some sort.

i dont think its ideal, but im sure it would work.

its probably a small bag and too expensive though?

i always reccomend promix HP/BX + osmocote to people who ask me what to grow plants in.  its like 40 bucks for a bail that will fill like 8 5 gallon containers. 

after that you need to graduate onto mixing your own shit because promix gets too expensive.

queequeg152 said:

i always reccomend promix HP/BX + osmocote to people who ask me what to grow plants in.  its like 40 bucks for a bail that will fill like 8 5 gallon containers. 

after that you need to graduate onto mixing your own shit because promix gets too expensive.
My answer is always compost.

If you have grass, you can make compost.

Compost + topsoil + perlite + tomatoe tone. Works really well for me.

Its all decomposed veg/protien matter