• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Freeze or dry peppers?

I'm buying peppers by the lb. and I'd like to know how to store them until I get around to using them.  I'm still working on my recipes so my batches are very small (1 to 2 peppers at a time). Should I freeze them for later use or dry them?  If I dry them how should I do it?  Will I need to rehyrdrate them once I am ready to use them?  How do I do that?  Sorry I'm a real novice here.

I use fresh/frozen and dried pods pretty equally in sauce making.  I'm still using a smaller Nesco dehydrator that's worked well for me to dry pods.  Dried takes up much less space.  I believe that the combination of fresh/frozen and dried really helps round out the depth and character of a sauce, so that's why I use em.  

You can absolutely freeze them. So if they are fresh peppers like Habaneros, just put them in zip lock bags and freeze them until you're ready to use them. Once you are ready, pour some mild water into the sink with a stopper and let them thaw out there for a while. Then you can put them in the food processor once completely thawed.

Dried peppers you don't have to freeze, obviously :)

Edit: We weigh our peppers first though so we only thaw what we are going to use.

Justaguy said:
I rinse and de-stem before freezing. I also halve then but you don't have to. It helps cut space and allows me to weed out any black stuff.
They go right in a bowl to freeze over night then into vacuum bags to get vacuum sealed.
I take them from the freezer and drop right into the blender. No thaw, hence the very useful de-stemming early on.
Have fun

This is exactly what I do. Process the peppers, then freeze them in the right amount for 1 batch of sauce. Want to double a recipe, take out two packages. Simple as that.