• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

32 Gallon Non-Circulating (Kratky) build - Jay's Peach Ghost Scorpion

This is an experimental build converting a 32-gallon trash can into a non-circulating hyrdoponics (Kratky) system. It's my first attempt at making a Kratky system of this scale. Inspiration came from reading some of the cool things Matt Garver is doing. It's been a week, and has started pushing some roots out of the net pot. Hopefully it will continue to do well.

https://youtu.be/SnKriSBNFMY

That's pretty cool. Do you ever have to add nutrients? Will that system last the whole summer without a water refill?

I'd love to see the roots in that bucket in a month or two!

austin87 said:
That's pretty cool. Do you ever have to add nutrients? Will that system last the whole summer without a water refill?

I'd love to see the roots in that bucket in a month or two!
Thanks! This is my first time trying a Kratky system this big, but I think it will last all season without having to add water/nutrients. Check this thread. This is a similar system, but in a 20 gal container, and I think his went the rest of the season.

Malarky said:
Awesome setup Peter! Will follow your progress for sure. What kind of sun are you getting there?
Thanks! I don't know exactly, but where it's at it gets some shade a good part of the day, and full sun maybe 4 or 5 hours. It's in a corner between the house and porch, and the porch blocks direct sunlight until maybe 1:00 or 2:00. As the sun passes over after a few hours, the house starts blocking it.

I haven't asked him yet but I suspect MattGarver=DeepRoots here on THP...fwiw.
it doesn't look like he posts here anymore, which is a shame because his grow looks pretty cool.

Malarky said:
I haven't asked him yet but I suspect MattGarver=DeepRoots here on THP...fwiw.
it doesn't look like he posts here anymore, which is a shame because his grow looks pretty cool.