• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Anyone grow yellow fatillis last season or growing them this year ?

Yellow fatalli IMO is one of the best tasting hotter peppers.     They're also productive.

I think they have been given less attention recently due to the craze over crosses, but very worth it for sauce making and general use.  

I don't have seeds right now but they should be easy to obtain.

moruga welder said:
curious if anyone has or hd grown the yellow fatilli ,  Hows their heat and flavor ? looking to grow some next grow , will trade . TKS. 

I'll check and see if I have some seeds when I get off work, I'm pretty sure I do.

I have been growing them for a few years. They will vary considerably depending on the source. Some are the perfect tasting type, some have a soapy after taste. Some are hotter and some are less hot. They are about as hot as a regular habanero. When you get the right one +1 on what was said before, they are some if the best tasting hot peppers. Tom

They  was hot, much hotter than I expected honestly. Taste wise, meh, I couldn't tell what all the hype was about. They was just ok. I could barely  tell a  difference between them and the bonda ma jacques.  

I probably wont grow yellow fatalii again. I haven't had red so I can't judge those.   

I am growing peach or cream fatalii this year because I had heard they was milder and more flavorful  

Was one of my first plants to grow. Very prolific. I know there is a few members growing them this year. Can't recall off the top of my head. I liked it. May grow it again next year. If I get some seeds, I'll let you know. I'm about to make a list and order from Hippy Seed Company, Jim Duffy and a couple others.