• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

My first attempt to grow carolina reaper in DIY air pruning pot

Hello everybody. I'm new in growing pepper and also new member here.

I would like to know whether air pruning pot is good for pepper or not. So I make a very simple air pruning pot.  Here are my carolina reaper on my DIY air pruning pot vs normal pot.  The result is quite impressive.  :P
Size of air pruning pot is much smaller but the reaper grow larger.  :fireball:

29582016984_10115f7392_b.jpg

Top view

30126248251_2ce06e52ea_b.jpg

30211196105_3c76330187_b.jpg

austin87 said:
Nice! Where did you get that green mesh material and how big are the holes?

I bought this green mesh from local hardware store in bangkok.  The diameter of hole is about 0.5cm

SavinaRed said:
How do you get the roots/soil to stay together in the airpot ?

I didn't do anything special. Put soil mix in air pot and sow the seed directly into it. 

beerbreath81 said:
Nice idea, plant in air prune does look lot better than one in traditional soil. Will you be making the diy pot bigger as the plant grows? I would guess if left in its current state there will soon not be enough room for the roots as the plants grow?

Some good info here....
http://thehotpepper.com/topic/39077-growing-in-smart-pots/

Thanks for the info, beerbreath81. I gave this reaper to my friend yesterday so I don't have a chance to make a bigger pot for it.

Anyway I'm still experiment with different pot size and let the pepper seedling stay in the pot until they stop growing.  
I sow seeds directly into the pot on Octorber 10 (seeds are from Fataliiseeds, PepperLover, WhiteHotPeppers) 
Today they grow this big.

29965748523_147186a8a3_c.jpg

30299734640_765fda5762_c.jpg

I don't know if they can reach 1 meter or not but i will try.  :party:  Hopefully heavy rain won't kill them.