• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Hungarian Paprika Pepper Suggestions?

Hi All, newbie here...looking for suggestions for my 2017 grow.

2016 was my first year growing peppers, 2nd year growing anything....

Started from seed:
-2 x Cayenne Lrg (burpee)
-2 x Thai Hot (burpee)
-2 x Leutschauer (baker creek)
-2 x Scotch Bonnet (baker creek)

Had good experiences growing/ smoking/ dehydrating/ powdering etc. 

Anybody have any experience with growing Hungarian Paprika peppers? Good or
Bad?

Any suggestions would be welcome, already bought some seeds from "reputable vendors" (Thanks Vendor Vault!)

2017 List so far, all for smoked paprika to be given as gifts. Mother in-law has already used half the powder from this years grow!

- Leutschauer (baker creek)
- Kalocsa (refining fire chilies)
- Szegedi 179 (refining fire chilies)
- Hunagrian Black (whitehotpeppers)
- Feher Ozon (pepperjoe)

Welcome to The Hot Pepper!

This was my second year growing paprika varieties. I made paprika powder last year and it was very good. Love to sprinkle it on potato soup plus I made goulash. This year I grew more plants and I've made smoked paprika powder.

The varieties I'm growing are:
Szegedi 20
Szegedi 80
Kalocsai 622

Another pepper, this one from Macedonia, is Kurtovska Kapija. It is used in a condiment called Ajvar. Not knowing better, last year I blended it in with the true paprika varieties. Didn't seem to hurt any.

All these varieties have produced well for me.
I picked these Kurtovska Kapija yesterday:

58f9563b3942e643c6bffc5e03a1c38c.jpg

And here are some of the Szegedi peppers:

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
09e289807ed4b6c9d91b1152ab4bacc2.jpg

dragonsfire said:
Welcome to the Forum !!

Thanks, caught the pepper bug last year and this website has only made it worse.
kentishman said:
Welcome to The Hot Pepper!