dehydrators Food Dehydrator Opinions

After reading several posts where folks recommend the Excalibur brand dehydrators, mainly due to the fan being in the back providing a more even drying, I did some shopping. For about the same amount of money for a 4 tray Excalibur I can get a 10 tray STX International. It too has the fan in the back and a couple of other neat tricks. Here's a link to it: http://cgi.ebay.com/STX-DEHYDRA-600...ryZ32883QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Does anybody have any experience with the STX?

Thanks.

I've never seen that one before..nor have I ever used one with the fan in the back. Seems like that fan is a little small/offset from the center. You might have to still rotate the trays a little bit since some of them are directly in front of the fan while others aren't. Don't quote me, as I'm not an expert...just what I figure from looking at the pictures. Have you tried googling model and seeing if any sites that sell them have customer feedback?

I agree with everything said. I like the choice of settings it has. It seems it doesn't have a timer though.

So far the only feedback I've been able to find is posted by the company. I need to find something a tad more impartial.

Chiliac, since this goes on for hours and hours and hours is a timer really necessary?

Thanks to both of you guys for your comments.

A timer is pretty helpful when you let it run unattended while you're away or overnight, but it isn't exactly necessary. If you can do without one, that reason alone shouldn't keep you from buying it if you think it's a good one!

You're talking about a timer that shuts it off automatically right? Should have known. That would be a good thing to have on it. Thanks Chiliac.

A timer is important, but you can get a lamp timer for next to nothing.