• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

overwintering Can I encourage this Cayenne to thrive over winter?

Afternoon Guys (At least it is here ;)) - I'd like a bit of advice if you will.

This year, total novice "Me" attempted to grow chillies again and surprise surprise, I didn't do great. The one exception was my Purple Cayenne which, although looking awful, produced quite a few pods for me.

Now, I am here to learn and plan to approach things very differently for 2017 but one nugget of information I didn't know was that chillies are perennial. This wakes an interesting idea.

Now, this Cayenne has a great flavour and a nice amount of punch, I'd love to try and save this plant, encourage it to bush out and see if I can get it to flourish next year. I intend to move it into a larger pot (currently it is in a 7 litre pot, I'll move it to a 10 litre or 2 gallon) along with new compost, but what would people recommend I do to try and encourage it to grow better? Ideally I'd like it to bush out rather than being all gangly like it is. (Oh, and I know the weeds need to come out, I hadn't bothered as I thought it was reaching the end of it's life :shh: )

It's always been grown indoors and kept in that very windowsill. Obviously, now the days are shorter it isn't getting as much light and has slowed growth considerably. The final pods are coming off tonight, meaning the plant itself is ready for anything drastic you might suggest.

Here is is (Ignore the little Habenero next to it, that came from a fire damaged warehouse which I have tried to save - growth has always been stunted and what little fruit it bore got to about pea size before turning orange)

Wo9CrS6.jpg

Thanks guys :)

As long as you got the light and warmth then it should be ok.
I also learned a couple years a go that their "Perennial", I used to just leave them outside to the winter thinking that was that for the season, what a waste.