• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Is it safe to plant this?

This is my first time trying the sauce cups with paper towel method, and this little yellow bubblegum is the first to pop out a root.  I did not soak in peroxide.  There is something brown on the root, which I'm assuming is mold.  My question is, should I plant it in dirt anyway or cull it/the whole cup?

Most people giving advice on using peroxide and other such things, are way overthinking.  
Just plant the seed.  If you're worried about failure, take an engineering approach, and design redundancy in.  Or, in plain terms, plant as many as you have, and keep the best of whatever emerges.
Don't overthink peppers.  They are one of the easiest things to grow.

I figured it would be fine, and I do have about 8 or so seeds left. I had a bunch damp off last year, so I'm just a little paranoid this year lol.

Damping off is a pain and I lost plenty last season. I germinate in seed raising mix and found that by bottom watering only it has solved that problem for me this season as I lost one in like 80+

Jase4224 said:
Damping off is a pain and I lost plenty last season. I germinate in seed raising mix and found that by bottom watering only it has solved that problem for me this season as I lost one in like 80+

I have to agree with this.  This is pretty much my method, also.

Hmmm... I can't identify what is it by taking a look at blurry photo but this is dangerous. 
If the seeds are infected. e.g. seed borned anthracnose and you continue planting them in your garden then you will be in big trouble later,

If you wanna minimize risk,  better soak seeds in 5% vinegar, hydrogen peroxide ... blah blah.

Now it depends on your luck. 

This is interesting. I have never used anything but water with my paper towels. I didn't have any idea that I could or should be adding other things. How does that work?

Inedible said: