• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Should I be worried?

I started tomato and pepper seeds 9 days ago. This is my first time germinating seeds. Ive read on several sites that they should start germinating in 3-10 days. I havnt seen any signs of germination yet. I know it takes time. I wasnt worried until reading all the info talking about germinating in 3-10 days

The 3-10 days is probably just for germination (i.e if you germinate in a paper towel you will see a sprout starting to emerge from the seed in about 3 - 10 days) If planting in soil you will not see germination for several more days since they take awhile to work through the soil.

what types?  I had white habs that took a month to germinate as they are notoriously slow germinators.

This year I planted 2 seeds per plant in Rapid Rooters, most broke ground within a week of one another. I did have a couple that took weeks to a month for the second seed to show themselves. So I wouldn't worry to much.

Still no signs of germination, thursday will be 2 weeks. Im using a heat mat. Ive got them in ziplock bags left unsealed covered in wet paper towels. The bags are in a plastic seed starting container with the clear plastic lid.
Ive got like 10 different heirloom tomatoes. A bunch of different peppers mostly hot to super hot.

If you don't see them poking their heads out of the soil in 4 weeks, they probably won't.

You can plant some more seeds today to give you a backup, just in case.

Mike

You don't need to use the paper towel method.

Start with fresh seeds, good soilessmix (don't use dirt for now) bottom heat