• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

lighting Lighting Help

Hey all I am new to growing and the forum this is my first season. I have a few different varieties of peppers (Carolina Reaper, Bhut, 7 Pot, etc) in the sprouting stage right now. I plan to have about 7-10 plants growing with this setup. I'm using a heating mat and just the window light they get right now since I live in NJ I am just planning to do a full indoor grow. My question is I am wondering what is most cost effective/productive friendly as far as lights go. I am currently looking into a T5 4ft 8 light setup I just wasn't sure if I can get all the way to the fruiting stage with these lights or if there is a better option for the same price range like LED, HPS, HID, etc. I am looking to spend around $100-$200 on lights any help would be great. 

Thanks

Welcome to the forum!

You can get to fruiting with both T5HO and MH/HPS. I'm sure the right LED setup will get you there also. I might leave one or 2 plants under my T8 setup this year and see if they set proper fruit, or if it ends up being small fruit due to not enough light.

Good luck to you!

U)<now said:
Welcome to the forum!

You can get to fruiting with both T5HO and MH/HPS. I'm sure the right LED setup will get you there also. I might leave one or 2 plants under my T8 setup this year and see if they set proper fruit, or if it ends up being small fruit due to not enough light.

Good luck to you!

Thanks, yes that was my worry wasn't sure if they would come out super small or what. Also I'm new to most lighting so wasn't sure if an LED or MH/HPS would be a better option for a close price range. If the HPS/MH or LED would produce a much better result and is a bit more money I would spring for that. If anyone has any experience with those for full indoor grows?

I don't, but others on here do. Some prefer T5HO and some like MH/HPS. Both seem to get good results.