• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Lemon Drop Pepper Question

I decided to try to grow some Lemon Drops this year and was wondering if anyone could tell me if these are indeed Lemon Drops. I have been growing peppers for over 8 years now and never grew these types of peppers. I thought they were supposed to be more elongated and skinnier but my pods are super fat and more orange Habanero like.

I got three Lemon Drop plants growing but i took pics from two of the plants.

Here is the first plant:
0710171509.jpg

And here is the second plant:

0710171510.jpg

I've researched Lemon Drops before i went ahead and planted the seeds and i know they are from the baccatum family which is know for producing a lot of pods. This plant no question is producing a lot of pods but don't look like the Lemon Drops i've seen online. Could i have been duped by the seed pack? Either way i am not too concerned as these plants are producing a lot of pods.

Any comments would be appreciated, thank you!! :) 

Those definitely look like habaneros.  Sorry, but it looks like they're doing really well!
One easy way to distinguish baccatums are the yellow markings on the flower petals.

Jubnat said:
Those definitely look like habaneros.  Sorry, but it looks like they're doing really well!
One easy way to distinguish baccatums are the yellow markings on the flower petals.

I was thinking the same thing. I grow orange Habs every year for the past 8 years so i am thinking i might of mixed up the pots and mistaken them for lemon drops.

Thanks for the tip on the flower petals, i'll have to go take a look at some in a little bit.

However....there are Lemon Drops that are different.

IMG_8508.jpg

I grew them last year. Your pods appear to be bigger, but maybe you bought one of those.

JoynersHotPeppers said:
Shiny like habs, pretty sure they are habs