• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Seed Collecting

I'm new to the pepper scene.  First year grower and had about 7 or 8 plants this season (probably considered newbie varieties.) Thatblondguy is graciously sending me some seeds for being a newbie, which I'm super pumped about!  I want to collect seeds, but am hesitant, because I don't know for sure if another variety pollinated another.  How do you keep them separate enough to have confidence in the seeds you are collecting are self-pollinated and not crossed?  I'm worried about plants not growing up as expected in year two.  Some may find joy in this, where I'm afraid I'll find anxiety.

Second, how do you keep your collected seeds stored?  some sort of seed organizers? if they exist?

The best way would be to buy from reputable sources. If you're growing yourself and want to make sure they grow true next season then you want to either isolate your whole plant or isolate individual blossoms. I won't get into it in detail here but there are a lot of threads on here that explain how to do it. And as far as storage goes, a lot of guys are using baseball card sleeves. That link that qandeel posted will show you.

I use these cool new mason jars for seed storage.  They are jelly jar size but look like something you would find in an old apothecary.  I print out Avery labels for them and then they go into a box.  But I am planning on building a cabinet for them.  But I am kind of odd.  I love that medieval look of things.  The important part is to keep them away from light, heat, changing temperatures, humidity.  Use your imagination.