• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Noob Grows Peppers?

Yes it is true, I am a noob.

I leave in Athens, Greece. We here usually get a snowless winter and a hot summer.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athens#Climate

I am thinking to start with some of the following:

Carolina Reaper
Jamaican Hot Chocolate
Jalapeno
Habanero Caribbean Red
Habanero Chocolate
Habanero Red
Cayenne Sweat
Scotch Bonnet Orange
Nippon Taka
Rocoto Red
Tabasco

I will certainly get the Carolina Reaper and Jalapeno and some of the rest. I have no idea about different colours. I would love to have peppers in different hotness levels.

The idea is to start grow them indoors during the winter and get them out as the spring kicks in so when the summer comes they will be loaded. Due to the climate I would consider plants to be expendable, so harvesting seeds to sprout future plants will be essential.

I know that Greek farmers do indeed consider pepper plants to be expendable but I do not have any clues if my plan is actually viable, so any comments or advises will greatly be appreciated.

Hi Ares

Nice list there and a range of heat levels. I will be harvesting seeds this year also, but that's due to a limited selection in NZ and very high prices.

For your list can I suggest the peruvian white habanero. A great little plant that produces fiery white bullet pods. Very attractive too.

:welcome:  to the forum !

I like your list.  My favorite is the Jalapeno !  I grow other peppers for the fun of it. I think there are a lot of people that grow the Reaper just because it is a Reaper !!  Too damn hot for me, but I think it looks really cool  :party:

Are you going to grow in a garden ? Maybe in pots ?  Either way you do it there are ways to keeps plants alive over the winter.  Sometimes that works out fine and you don't have to germinate new seeds.

Good luck to you and Happy Growing !

Jeff

Thank you!