• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Dying Chili

Hi,

I've been growing a chili (African Naga Ghost Pepper) for the past 2 months. 
1 1/2 weeks ago I've accidently overwatered some of my plants. This didn't kill them, but due to the overwatering, but to my surprise, a lot of white bugs showed up on the surface. I tried to overwater all of my plants to expose them, and the white bugs was in them all.

Google told me, that it was the most destructive bugs you could get in a plant, which would cause close to none harvest. I threw almost all of my plants in the garbage, but tried to save 2. 

The way I tried to save one of them was to wash all of the dirt of the rootsystem, and try to start a hydroponic system. Accidently I lost almost all of the rootsystem, due to the jiffy pellet which I started the seeds in. 

You can see that the leaves are turning a little brown, but they haven't started to hang

My question now is, is there any hope that my plant will survive, and rebuild the root system, or is it a lost case? 

Attachments

• 20171207_181205.jpg
    20171207_181205.jpg
    59.1 KB · Views: 66
Thank you :-)

It said that it was aphids and/or white flies. When the water laid on top of the soil, almost the whole surface of the water was filled with small white almost caterpillar looking bugs

Well if it's on the soil then it could be fungus gnats (treatable). If it's aphids, those are also treatable. And if it's whitefly, well those are also treatable. It's a shame you trashed your plants but if there's any way you could pull them out I would suggest trying to save them. Fungus gnats can be treated just by letting the top layer of soil dry out and by putting a fan on them if they're indoors. For aphids and whiteflies, an insecticidal soap or neem oil would work just fine. Aphids can be a pain cuz they bounce back quickly but you just need to stay on top of them and you should be fine.

Edmick said: