• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

refrigeration of new sauce

Boy guys I apologize for blowing up the boards with so many questions this morning. I am gearing up to make a batch of sauce and had a question about safety. I don't own a ph tester. In the past I have experience canning jellies and pickled peppers etc and nothing has ever spoiled after years of sitting in the pantry prior to opening. But hot sauce, like I have been playing with lately, is a new game to me. I have been creating wing style sauces for several years with great success but those sauces go immediately in the fridge and keep for months as I use them like salsa (sort of). Now I am playing with standard based hot sauce making and was wondering about spoilage. I boil all my ingredients for 20 minutes or so before final blending. My recipe is as follows:

1 cup vinegar
3/4 cup water (or more to desired consistency)
1 peach or pear
1/2 onion
chinese dried red peppers
fresh habaneros
salt
sugar
lemon juice

Is there a way to know by how much vinegar you have in the ratio if the sauce is safe to let sit at room temperature or if it needs to be refrigerated? what about the onions and fruit that is in the sauce?

I can't find the edit button so I will reply with this.....I am reading the sticky about food safety on this forum right now. I posted this question wondering if there was a general rule of thumb when it came to vinegar ratio in sauce.

cmwr said:
Boy guys I apologize for blowing up the boards with so many questions this morning.
Don't apologize, man! We're all here to help each other out and learn from each other's experiences (and mistakes ;) ) That's what it's all about!
cmwr said:
I don't own a ph tester.

Is there a way to know by how much vinegar you have in the ratio if the sauce is safe to let sit at room temperature or if it needs to be refrigerated?