• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Anaerobic environment

Hey all,

So the fermentation thing produces CO2, which being heavier than air pushes the oxygen out of the airlocks, leading to an anaerobic environment in the jar, right? I'll bounce it off my coworker in grad school for biochemistry, but if I were to inject a little CO2 into the jar or vessel after filling, would that help ensure nothing "bad" would grow? I know the pH drops as the fermentation happens, and that helps, but would an initial purge be beneficial?

lol, thats why I ask! Botulism  is anaerobic, and I feel silly for not catching that.

Not to split hairs, but "air" isn't clearly defined, and as a scientist, I like clarity. It's admittedly picking fly shit out of the pepper, since botulism likes "that" environment, but I think the reference to "air" is dated, and when you think about it, anything with any headspace would be deemed aerobic, regardless of the composition of the gases comprising that space, and that just seems wrong, to me.

Howiest said:
Hey all,

So the fermentation thing produces CO2, which being heavier than air pushes the oxygen out of the airlocks, leading to an anaerobic environment in the jar, right? I'll bounce it off my coworker in grad school for biochemistry, but if I were to inject a little CO2 into the jar or vessel after filling, would that help ensure nothing "bad" would grow? I know the pH drops as the fermentation happens, and that helps, but would an initial purge be beneficial?
This is basically the concept to remove oxygen when bottling beer. I have no idea if it would work on a ferment.

You have to remember the air pockets not just the headspace. That's why infused oils are so dangerous.

PS. An air pocket can be a micro size oxygen molecule inside a garlic mince. I just wouldn't chance it.

The Hot Pepper said: