• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Too many strains, how to choose?

I ordered a lot of seeds recently and I can't grow all those varieties at once.
I'm new to this, so I know I have to grow a lot of different varieties to experiment and see which ones I like/dislike in terms of growing characteritics, taste, heat, and so on.

So here's my question: When you have a lot of varieties and not enough space to grow them all, how do you choose what to grow first?

who says you have to choose ?
 grow as many as you can afford soil and water for :D

I have been enjoying this hobby for years, and each year it is a struggle to choose who makes the list for new peppers to try :)

what peppers do you like ?
what will you be doing with the peppers ?
is your goal just to get to taste them, or to make sauces, powders, and rubs, or do you want to have enough peppers to sell fresh peppers ?

short answer: I struggle to choose which new to me peppers to grow every year as well.

I put up 150 seeds last yr as a noob. Damn near all sprouted.

I let em grow and planted some faves into beds...the rest into pots.

Many contained 2/3 plants in each pot.

By doing so I could see characteristics I liked and didn't like and harvested a mega stash of powders and pods in the freezer.

It gets addictive for sure.... plant as many as you can. You will learn a lot and the reward is awesome.

Good luck.

*I am only grow 20 or so this yr haha

Guatemalan Insanity Pepper said:
who says you have to choose ?
 grow as many as you can afford soil and water for :D

I have been enjoying this hobby for years, and each year it is a struggle to choose who makes the list for new peppers to try :)

what peppers do you like ?
what will you be doing with the peppers ?
is your goal just to get to taste them, or to make sauces, powders, and rubs, or do you want to have enough peppers to sell fresh peppers ?