• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

indoor Growing peppers indoors from start to finish

So I’m new to pepper growing but I was wondering if I can grow peppers indoors only or do I have to start them indoors and then take them outdoors because my current house limits me from growing outdoors as I live in a town home. I have bought a 24x24x48 greenhouse for indoors with a 600watt led light and also going to try miracle grow potting mix as I’ve seen good reviews on it. I’ll take any suggestions as I’m new to this and will greatly appreciate the feedback. Also I’m going to be trying to grow Carolina reaper red habaneros and some cayenne’s.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

juanitos said:
most people take them outside because pepper plants get quite large and the sun is free and better than any light you can buy.
but is it possible to grow from start to finish inside with good results?

yes with a strong light. it is not worth it as far as $ is concerned. but if you are doing it for a fun hobby then its good.

miracle gro is ok.... but i would rather you get something with better drainage. like pro-mix HP

Yeh you can do that. But u need fairly decent lighting and good environmental control to do it well. Though you might also want to consider the cost verses gain. It will cost far more to produce ie cost of electricity, than you will get out of your harvest. I use a 315cmh in a 4x4x6.5 grow tent and can grow up to 9 large chinense type peppers plants that produce small/medium sized fruits. But it costs me way more to grow them, then the peppers are worth. I usually only do this in the winter months and only to grow out hybrids or do line work, increasing fillial generation. That's the only way I can justify the cost.

Dane said: