• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Window Silly Chili 18

Hello fellow growers! 

First glog! :dance: 

I’ve been growing chilies every year for about 15 years. Due to the “charming” danish climate, and lack of garden and greenhouse, I’ve turned into a passionated windowsill-grower. I like to keep things fairly simple. No fancy light, relying only on the light that nature has to offer, some chili fertilizer and a lot of love.
This year, for the first time, I’m trying out coco coir. My small plants currently sit in 100% coco coir, because I wanted to get a better feel for the medium’s behaviour. Currently, because the danish spring offers temperatures around 5 degrees, the coco coir develop a slightly moldy surface, from sitting on the cold windowsill. This hopefully will be bygone when the sun starts to get more power. The windowssill is facing south, and can get really hot during summer. Therefore I will later on, when repotting, add 1/3 pumice, to get even better water retention and aeration. 

This it what I am growing this year:

C. anuum
  • Czechoslovakian Black

C. baccatum 
  • Aji Little Finger Orange
  • Pimenta Barra do Ribeiro

C. chinense 
  • Cumari
  • Tobago Seasoning
  • White Bullet
  • Peachgum TigerMAMP 
fullsizeoutput_1003.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_1004.jpeg

IMG_0039.JPG

See below. This small plug tells an amazing story. The poor seedling was suffering from helmet head, and in my attempt to remove it, the seedling broke in half. Feeling frustrated from my failed attempt to save the seedling, I left the broken-off half lying on top of the plug. 
A week later, I checked the plug, and the broken-off half rooted!!
This is by far the youngest clone I’ve ever made. Amazing! I will update with its progress, to see how/if it might have affected it’s growth.
So if you break a precious seedling, don’t despair - try to clone it!

fullsizeoutput_1002.jpeg