• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Seedling fert overdose?

Hi all,

I'm new to seed starting, in the past I've only grown from nurseries, and I've only been doing that for a couple of years. I've read WAAY too much online compared to how much experience I have growing peppers.

I posted some earlier pictures in my grow log and wrote about this there, but I figured this would be a better place to ask for input. I am having some problems with darkening at edges and tips of cotyledons and recently true leaves (on my MoAs)

I started seeds on 4/22, they mostly germinated around 6-10 days, and this is the current state of some of my seedlings.

Chihuacle Negro seem to somewhat appreciate the conditions, they're growing almost as quickly as my tomatillos which germinated in 2 days(!)

IMG_0344.JPG

However, MoAs are doing worse. Although there growth speed is decent, they don't look healthy.

IMG_0347.JPG

I got these straight from Juanitos so I know that this is not their expected phenotype.

From reading TrentL's glog and other sites, I developed my theory that this is nutrient overdose. I'd accidentally fed twice with pHed nutrient solution at roughly 220PPM Nitrogen instead of the 25ishPPM I've recently read I should be giving seedlings this young. I'm guessing that the high PPMs of N, P and K have caused nutrient toxicity, lockout of micros, "nute burn" or a combination. I've already flushed moderately and am watering with pHed water only for the next couple of weeks.

Does this seem like a good diagnosis and plan? Has anyone seen anything like this before? If anyone has any tips or suggestions they'd be welcome.

Tom

Whoops, forgot that. They're in mostly vermiculite, with some perlite and old garden soil. It doesn't drain the best, but I've only been watering every 4-5 days and only when the soil is noticeably lighter in weight.