• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Dropped Blossom Question

My MOA Scotch Bonnets are flowering, but they are dropping their blossoms and I have a question. I have never grown pepper so I'd like to know if in this picture is a pepper starting to form. It looks like it to me, but I don't know since I have never done this before.
2018-04-12 00.34.35.jpg

Masher said:
Yes...that's a pepper
Thanks. Now I guess I'll have to find out why they are dropping. My guess is low humidity since its still winter here and we use a wood stove for heat. I also read that the first flowers can be a little finicky, but would the first flowers drop even if they're pollinated?

Yes they will drop anytime the situation is not conducive to fruit production. Poor environmental conditions is a big one. Too many fruits on one plants can also cause them to abort.

There is a list that gets posted about flower drop I'm pretty sure. Too much nitrogen is one. I had a plant set peppers then gave it a few feedings in a row because they were getting just water while I was out of town. After the feedings the small flowers dropped but the peppers and pollinated flowers stuck around. The other time I had a lot of flowers drop it was over 100 out for over a week.

Flower drop probable causes:

1. Day temp too high >95F
2. Night temp too low <65F or too high >85F
3. Too much nitrogen fertilizer
4. Too much water
5. Low light levels (reduces fertility).
6. Very low humidity (reduces fertility)
7. Poor air circulation (air circulation contributes to pollination).
8. Lack of pollinating insects.
9. Size of pot
10. Too much mineral in feedwater.
11. Too much grower attention/anxiety.

Thanks for the list willard3. I was thinking it was low humidity, but I found this....
2018-04-19 13.13.19.jpg

The plant is still dropping more flowers tho. So I have a couple more questions.