• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

white stuff under leaves

hi everyone

i'm completely new to gardening (and hence pepper growing as well).
i've done some reading and watched some videos, but i still have a long way to go

i just got some (supposedly) carolina reapers that were already fruiting, so i don't know their history...

to me they look mostly healthy:

9xlxFES.jpg

ESvfdmi.jpg

however, now i am noticing that there is some white junk on the bottom of some of the leaves:

5slADvd.jpg

8U89Exk.jpg

zPLglUU.jpg

xWcCDcd.jpg

sorry for the low quality of the pics. capturing it ain't easy.

anyway, it doesn't really look like what i'd expect insect eggs to look like. it's more like soft crud, and it's really well integrated into the leaf. doesn't want to scrape off.

some more data points:

• i did see a couple of small, red insects on there. they were a little smaller than 1mm. i have no idea if that's related to this in any way. are those aphids? spider mites? maybe i'll try to catch one and look at it close up. they move real fast.
  • a couple of leaves look bad (but they aren't the ones with crud underneath):

xL85PVe.jpg

anyone know what i might be dealing with?
thanks!

other questions:

the fruits so far are fairly tiny, around 3/4" long or smaller.
i ate a red one yesterday. i liked the flavor, and it was hot, but it was not super super hot. probably just like normal habanero hot. i got the hiccups but didn't exactly die from eating it like i have from other super hot peppers.
there were no seeds inside.

do you think it might put out bigger peppers if i put it in a bigger pot and let it grow bigger?
what's up with no seeds and relatively low spiciness? i figured red = ripe.

i wonder if these are actually reapers?