• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

First time grower- looking for tips/advice

Good day folks!

As the title states, this is my first year growing peppers, I've been looking into growing them for over 2 years!

Long story short I've been watching people's pepper plants grow huge! I'm wondering if there's anything I can do to help my plants get that big. I pruned them early last month, and they branched out. On Monday after I transplanted them outside, they started to set some buds. I'm wondering if I should be snipping them off, or if I should let them be? I've attached some pictures, the buds are hard to see but they're only appearing at the top. Any tips and advice are much appreciated!!

P.S these are Orange Habs and Carolina Reapers !

https://www.flickr.com/photos/161551106@N06/shares/8uMv1j

If you're new to growing, the best thing you can do for them, is to not try to love them too much. (or as you stated, "just let them be")
Give yourself an opportunity to identify areas of improvement AFTER a textbook season of just sitting on the sidelines, and letting the plant show you how much it really doesn't need any intervention from you. (watering and possible fertilization, notwithstanding)

Welcome,

It might be just me but your soil looks like itd go muddy or dry out very quickly. Have you grown in that soil previously with other plants since this is your first pepper plant year?

Welcome to THP.  Mulching is great and addresses the soil challenged mentioned.  It takes years, but if you mulch with organic material and then till or turn at the end of the year, it improves the soil year after year.  You are on the right track.

AJ Drew said:
if you mulch with organic material and then till or turn at the end of the year, it improves the soil year after year. 

Or not.  No-till works pretty awesomely, too. :)

Those things are screaming FEED ME!!!