• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

HELP..... with the latest attack on my Bonnets!

[SIZE=10.5pt]Okay, so I came home the other day and find my best looking SB is completely wilted and the tops of the leaves looked like they were sprayed with sugar water.  As I inspected the plants I noticed that the underside of the leaves were covered in small black dots.  I took my hand and rubbed the leaves and it left a sticky residue on my fingers :(  I am no expert  but I am thinking it is a scale problem.  I isolated the infected plant and it lost all of its bottom leaves.  The plant is still alive and the new leaves do not appear to be affected at this time but I know that it is probably just a matter of time and it will return.  I also now have one more plant showing the same symptoms.  Does anyone have any suggestions on controlling/treating scale?  I have also noticed that the plants that appear to have scale have several Assassin bugs on them.  Do they eat scale?[/SIZE]

You sure they are assassin bugs and not Leaffooted bug nymphs? Maybe I'm the only one that's confused them. Just a thought!

Chewi said:
You sure they are assassin bugs and not Leaffooted bug nymphs? Maybe I'm the only one that's confused them. Just a thought!

Oh crap, you may be on to something!  I am pretty sure that they are Assassin bugs but will do a little more research and try to get some pictures.  Do you know of a good way to ID them?

Assassin bugs are often confused with various members of family Coreidae.  In fact, assassin bugs often co-mingle with any number of different type of squash bugs, as they look similar to them.  But they're good predators, the other ones are assholes.

Good way to ID?  Yes, you just have to diligently research.  If you were an entomologist, you could easily spend a career on just this chapter.  LOL

BlackFatalii said:

Just pick one up. If it bites the crap out of you, it is an Assassin bug.  :lol: