• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

fermenting Dry Mash Fermentation Done - What Now?

Forgive me for what's probably a stupid question, but this is my first time doing this and I'm kinda winging it. I bought some Brazilian Starfish seeds last year and planted them, and they're literally taking over my house. The good thing is that I got a quarter pound of peppers.

I put them in a food processor with 8% of the weight of the peppers in salt, some lemon juice, and three cloves of garlic.

After two weeks, it smells sublime and tastes smooth and hot

7puHnO2.png

So the stupid question I have now is... what now? Do I add vinegar? Do I add water? It tastes absolutely amazing, smooth, mellow, and spicy. I feel like just keeping it to spread on some tacos, but the goal here is hot sauce. So how do I turn this into hot sauce?

Thank you very much for any help in how to proceed!

:welcome: to THP , even though you have been here for a few months.

Looks like you have preserved the peppers with the salt and other ingredients.  8% salt is a bit steep, but the flavor can work out in the end, that's OK.  If you want to keep the same flavor and make it into a sauce, I would suggest....

add enough water to make it a little 'sludgy'
run the 'sludge' through a food mill to remove all the seeds and skin bits while pushing all the juicy bits through to the bowl.

work it- work it-work it---- add a bit more water if needed...

Then process as described in making hot sauce 101

salsalady said:
:welcome: to THP , even though you have been here for a few months.

Looks like you have preserved the peppers with the salt and other ingredients.  8% salt is a bit steep, but the flavor can work out in the end, that's OK.  If you want to keep the same flavor and make it into a sauce, I would suggest....

add enough water to make it a little 'sludgy'