8 replies to this topic

#1 Honey Badger

Honey Badger

Mild

• Members
  • Pip
  • 98 posts

Posted 14 September 2018 - 09:26 AM

Recently I bought 25L fermentation bucket with airlock, thermometer and a tap. Originally, I was going to ferment some vegetables with chillies but decided I would like to make apple cider vinegar in it instead. I have lots of apples (see the background) which are quite sour and other than cooking, I don't know what else to do with them.

fermentation bin.jpg

I'm actually looking for ideas as well as advice on weather this bucket is suitable for ACV at all?

TIA

#1A Guest

• Pip
  • 1 post

#2 dragonsfire

dragonsfire

On Fire!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,727 posts

Posted 14 September 2018 - 09:38 AM

If its food grade then its fine. Their are several threads on making Vinegar.

#3 Will-zone10a

Will-zone10a

Mild

• Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

Posted 14 September 2018 - 01:14 PM

If its food grade then its fine. Their are several threads on making Vinegar.

I had no idea there was a thread to make that stuff. I'll check it out on a later date

#4 CaneDog

CaneDog

Heating Up

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts

Posted 14 September 2018 - 01:41 PM

I'd be thinking of mixing them with some sweeter apples to balance them out and ferment a hard cider.  Your bucket would allow you to pour into secondary off the yeast cake without having to siphon. The sour apples would be the smaller part of the mix though, maybe 1/3 or so.  I'd also be thinking ACV just like you are.

#5 Honey Badger

Honey Badger

Mild

• Members
  • Pip
  • 98 posts

Posted 15 September 2018 - 06:35 AM

I think the easiest for me is to go ACV route and forget about hard cider*. I'll just wash the apples, juice them and mix juice and pulp together in the bucket and leave it few months to slowly turn to ACV.

I'll have to look for some vinegar making threads...