• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

smoking Perfect timing...

So I've been a chef my whole life, classical french trainded, fine dinning, haute cuisine. Little artfully arranged bits of over high priced egotrips. I know a bit about BBQ but hasn't exactly been a part of the classical French lexicon. Now, my friends caterer for his wedding rehersal dinner has backed out and he wants me do to BBQ for 75pp. I can use your tips in two areas: kick ass ribs, and pulled pork.

Ready? GO....thanks!

You'll need a large smoker.

Buy about 8 pork shoulders ( Boston Butts) .

Coat in mustard and apply rub of choice.

After 4-8 hours put shoulders on smoker @ 200-250ยบ for 8-16 hours...depending on weight.

For the ribs buy pork spare ribs.

Boil the ribs in seasoned/salt water or 10 minutes.

apply rub.

Smoke for 2-3 hours.

That's just real basic stuff. Of course you'll want to google some recipes as well to get a more well informed idea of how to do this.

Thanks for the tip Creator, I'll make sure the goat holds on the pigglets real tight!

Chuck, Can a dome type weber grill be used as smoker?

Hawgboy, Maybe a pulled pork pate de Campange, Ribs with a warm frisse salad, lardons, black truffle vinaigrette, ouffes en coccote? Maybe a French 75 with BBQ sauce, YUK!

ChefEx said:
Thanks for the tip Creator, I'll make sure the goat holds on the pigglets real tight!

Chuck, Can a dome type weber grill be used as smoker?

Hawgboy, Maybe a pulled pork pate de Campange, Ribs with a warm frisse salad, lardons, black truffle vinaigrette, ouffes en coccote? Maybe a French 75 with BBQ sauce, YUK!
I would not recommend a dome weber as a smoker. the key to smoking is low indirect heat. I don't believe you could regulate the heat properly on a weber.

Other tips: