• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Eggplant Varieties that Grow Well in Containers...

this is my first year also to grow Eggplant...I ordered some Black Beautys from Burpees and am going to try them...probably will put them in 7 gallon containers...

Pam said:
My Rosa Bianca did very well in containers last year.

I have had my eye on this variety. Supposedly has great flavor. It is good to know that they take well to containers. What size were you using?

AlabamaJack said:
this is my first year also to grow Eggplant...I ordered some Black Beautys from Burpees and am going to try them...probably will put them in 7 gallon containers...

The black beauty is the eggplant that I am most familiar with growing. It will be interesting to hear how well they do in containers.

PeteyPepper said:
I have had my eye on this variety. Supposedly has great flavor. It is good to know that they take well to containers. What size were you using?

Um, it was a cut down barrel, so it was wide, and had, um, maybe 4 or 5 gallons of dirt. I had three plants in it.

Pam said:
Which ones?

I see a lot that are listed as Italian, but none specifically as Sicilian.
What do you mean which ones?

I recommended Sicilian. They are great, especially for Italian dishes. They are readily available in NYC.

Attachments

• DSC_5225.JPG
    DSC_5225.JPG
    30 KB · Views: 76
thehotpepper.com said:
What do you mean which ones?

Well, a quick google brings up Sicilian eggplant recipes, but no specific variety called "Sicilian". I can't grow it if I don't know what it is, exactly.

I recommended Sicilian. They are great, especially for Italian dishes. They are readily available in NYC.

Well then, be a good little forum member and get us some seeds next time you buy one.

Pam, I speaketh as eggplant eater, not grower ;)