Jump to content

  •  


The 10th Annual Hot Pepper Awards Winners Announced!

Gorizza

Member Since 19 May 2017
Offline Last Active Yesterday, 08:27 PM

Topics I've Started

Gorizza's Hot Sauce 2017

05 August 2017 - 12:21 AM

Started with ~5 gallons worth of peppers, most of which are pictured below:

 

A8JDxkT.jpg

 

Then mixed up 7 sauces. Mostly cooked stovetop with EVOO and salt then packed with ACV and (my first time using) Xantham Gum.

 

The Sauces:

  • Habanero Mustard and carrot
  • Scotch Bonnet & Yellow Moruga with white wine, white pepper, and celery
  • Trinidad Moruga Scorpion and tomato garlic
  • Chocolate Douglah and blackberry
  • Bhut Jolokia and strawberry
  • Misc. Bhut crosses & Jalapeno with sugar, white pepper, and celery
  • Habanero berry

CnUwXYh.jpg


Maldivian Heart x Purple Bhut

22 July 2017 - 09:26 AM

This year Puckerbutt sold F4 seed (from F3 plants) of an "experimental variety" called CP 120 - Maldivian Heart x Purple Bhut https://store.pucker...-purple-bhut-f2

 

Here is the official picture from Chris Phillips:

CP_120_-_Maldivian_Heart_x_Purple_Bhut_F

 

 

 

 

I germinated several seeds and am growing a plant at my house, and gave one to a friend. I saw his plant for the first time yesterday and was shocked to see that they are segregating for pod type!

 

This one is mine, with the Jolokia pod type:

MiRRRV6.jpg

 

 

And this is his with the Habanero pod type, those pods are HUGE:

XsGNwNQ.jpg

 

Obviously I'm saving seeds from both.

 


2017+2018 AAS winners

18 July 2017 - 05:24 PM

The 2018 AAS winners were announced recently, and although no varieties won in the "pepper" category this year, an ornamental pepper won in "flowers"

 

Takii Seed's "Onyx Red"http://all-americase...epper-onyx-red/

2018-ornamental-pepper-onyx-red-768x768.

 

 

 

 

Because there was no AAS thread for last year (at least not in the search) I'll highlight last years winners as well

 

There were 4 AAS winners in "Pepper" last year:

 

PanAmerican Seed's "Aji Rico F1"http://all-americase...epper-aji-rico/

2017PepperAjiRico-768x768.jpg

 

Clover Seed Co's "Chili Pie F1" - http://all-americase...pper-chili-pie/

2017PepperChiliPie-768x768.jpg

 

Clover Seed Co's "Sweetie Pie F1" - http://all-americase...er-sweetie-pie/

2017PepperSweetiePie-768x768.jpg

 

PanAmerican Seed's "Mad Hatter F1" - http://all-americase...per-mad-hatter/

Pepper-Mad-Hatter-F1-768x768.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So what do you think? Have you had these varieties? Grown them in different Hardiness Zones? Are you more interested in getting seed now that they are AAS winners?


Kumquat & Ghost Sauce

12 July 2017 - 03:26 PM

I've got a handful of kumquats and a plant full of Ghost Peppers and have envisioned these two together in a sauce.

 

I was planning on deseeding the kumquats but leaving the skin on.  They are on the sour side, so I might add a dash of sugar.

 

What other flavors do you think could go well in this? Any other tips?


Roasted my first pod of the year

18 June 2017 - 06:24 PM

I know its only one pod, but its the first one big enough to roast (or in this case, grill) of the year

 

NuMex Heritage 6-4