• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

2019 Experimentation, Learning and Fails

Hey folks.

I figured it is time to start myself one of the grow logs. It will be a bit scattered as I start this thread up, as I've been all over the place experimenting with growing, as I'm completely new to this. I've always like spicy foods, but I never thought I would be doing any form of gardening.

We're basically entering into winter here, but we are in the equivalent to zone 11a, and don't get frost, so I'm going on the assumption I might be able to produce year round, but I also am working on the assumption everything will die as well (hey, I learn the hard way). To help with the cool nights, I am putting up a small greenhouse, hoping to get about 40 plants in there if I can manage to fit that many, so I'll mostly be using 10L buckets, with some 20L's for the ones I really want to produce like crazy.

It all started mid-January when I was on a road trip, and found 4 adolescent habanero plants. I had some unused pots at home my neighbours left me when they moved out, and I was already growing mint and parsley. The parsley wasn't growing, but had a mix of potting soil, compost and soil from the backyard. I put on habanero in there as soon as I got home, and it took to its new home without any transplant shock. The other 3, I did a few days later, and they all got shock. I was also using dirt from the backyard. Big mistake in hindsight...
xRTrzrt.jpg

mvEyO5Z.jpg

1 of the habanero plants started producing, I got 2 peppers off it. Then later that one, plus another started flowering, and producing pods, but then trajedy struck and the leaves wilted. I don't think it was overwatering as I got myself a cheap soil moisture meter and only top watered when it showed dry. I haven't been keeping my fertilising logged, but it was about once every 2 weeks with fish emulsion.