• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

2019 Pod reviews

Ate my first 2019 pods last night...

After what seemed like forever, watching these things ripen, I picked two pods yesterday. A Sugar Rush Peach and what was labeled as a Yellow NagaBrain but the pod turned out red. It sure appear to be a NagaBrain otherwise.

The SRP was first to be sampled. I've never tried this one before, note has my chile buddies, so we didn't know what to expect. I cut it into three pieces longitudinally, and we wolfed it down. It was sweet, but we all thought it would be sweeter, given its name and reputation. Heat was immediate, moderate, didn't seen to build, really. Just got up front and lingered a bit. I'd read a lot of conflicting opinions on heat; sine say it's truly mild, others say it comes close to have heat. Of day it's in between there, probably close to 30000shu? Maybe less. Definitely too hot for toddlers, but not truly a hot pepper.

We cut the NagaBrain up at the bar towards the end of the bicycle bar hop session. It smelled powerful. Most of the other cyclists wanted nothing to do with it; I cut it into three pieces again, but we ultimately ended up fixing it pretty small and timidly munching it, chasing it with Guinness and hot wings to soothe the burn. It was SuperHot for sure, but we are all totally out of chile-shape after the off-season. So it's hard to say for sure how hot it was. The pod was very gnarly, big for an early SuperHot pod, and we were all impressed that it seemed less bitter than we'd recalled red SuperHots to be....

Next pods turning ripe are more SRPs and Bhut Assam Yellow. Got plenty of little pods forming on most plants and quite a few that are big enough, but still green. I went way too hard this year, with 173 plants(!) but I'm sure they won't all produce a bumper crop, lol

PtMD989 said:
So, those new boxes working out good for ya, eh.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk