• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

7 Pot/Pod

Ok this is probably a really stupid question and I think I know the answer, but I am a newbie to 7 pot/pod....but are they one in the same? I hear them called 7 Pod and I hear them called 7 Pod..why the two different names?

i think the idea is that they're so hot that one pod is enough to heat up 7 pots of stew. i might be wrong but i seem to remember reading that somewhere. are you have trouble germinating them? i planted close to 15 yellow 7 pods 3 weeks ago and only 1 has sprouted so far

i think the idea is that they're so hot that one pod is enough to heat up 7 pots of stew. i might be wrong but i seem to remember reading that somewhere. are you have trouble germinating them? i planted close to 15 yellow 7 pods 3 weeks ago and only 1 has sprouted so far

Not yet..just planted. Yea I heard that same thing and have always called them 7 "pot"..but starting to hear "pod" a lot more.

for such a popular pepper(amongst chiliheads) you would think a large seed company would offer such an item, i think if that ever happened we would see a standardized name.

the only 7's that i have had any issues with are the douglah, the barrackpore in both soil and rockwool germinated and look extremely healthy. yellow 7's look nice also but i am just surprised on how large the leaves are on the barracks. i believe they all germinated within 2 weeks, i would have to check my notes.

I used to call them 7 Pot and have heard the same story that aram mentioned. However a while back PRF mentioned something about doing a bit of research and finding that they are correctly called 7 Pod.

Cardi(Caribbean agricultural research and development institute) calls the Trinidad landrace type a 7 pod so I go with that.