• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

adding composted manure to final potted plants?

This is my first year growing, and I didn't know about adding composted manure to the soil mix before planting. I added some composted manure to my more recently repotted plants and it seems to work really well for them, they look a lot greener and healthier than my older plants. So I was wondering, is there still a way to work some in at this point? They're already in the final 5 gallon buckets and the roots are spread throughout the soil, so I can't really repot them or work the compost in directly. Would it be worthwhile to either spread some around the top of the soil, and then water? Or even mix some in the water for the next watering? I'm not sure if this would work and the composted manure would get distributed very well in the soil this way....

Putting it on top of the soil and watering works like a time release fertilizer. Every watering feeds a small amount to your plants. I've been doing it for years and it even works for trees.

Yes you can top dress with it or make compost tea and water with that too.

If you are going to make compost tea, unless you know the compost has been "made" correctly, do not apply it to the plants as a foliar spray. CT made from unfinished or wrongly made compost (temps don't get high enough to kill pathogens) and then applied to plants or used in hydro systems can cause e. coli.

Mike

Great, thanks guys. I think I will top dress it I think. How much would you recommend per 5 gallon bucket? I just had to flush out the pots from over-fertilizing so I'm trying to be careful not to repeat that mistake. Although I'm under the impression that compost is less likely to burn plants?