• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

chinense Aji Painapple (Aji Pineapple X Butch T yellow scorpion)

Harvested my first ripe Aji Painapple today. This is a f1 cross of Aji Pineaaple X Butch T yellow scorpion. 

b3qHOn0.jpg

oS0E1US.jpg

Color is a deep school bus yellow orange

Much larger and wider around than Aji pineapple

eU0yVVz.jpg

This particular plant was started in hydro and moved outdoors when this pod was mostly grown. Took a few more weeks outdoors to ripen. 

ldOdDcd.jpg

I have 2 other plants that where started in soil and have been outdoors since plant out and are just starting to flower and get their own pods on them. 

Medium walled with very low seed count. Only 5 seeds in this pod. Smell is of typical baccatum with a hint of scorpion floral. 

o1xE08H.jpg

Taste, i'm not good at this part. Flesh has that crisp aji pineapple crunch, fruity, grassy and a hint of floral. Acrid acidic bite. Initially no heat that slowly builds to way past typical baccatum levels I'd say high end habbish maybe 250-300k. Mostly lips and tongue burn that just keeps building. Had me digging through the freezer for the icecream. I'm no pod reviewer so I can't take much fresh pod pain. 

I'll be curious to see how the pods on the other plants look and taste vs this one and will update as info is available. See my crossing thread for other info related to the crosses and their growth. 

That's awesome. I love the name. Have been looking forward to seeing it cut open and reading your impressions of heat and flavor. It's really a beautiful looking pod.

Great looking pod D3. I too am huge fan of the Aji Pineapple, so this is sure to be a hit. Great work mate.

SR. 

Thanks everyone, it's still early so there's still possibility of cooler looking phenos on the other plants. While I was excited for this one I can't really see it being a "Wow great pepper" Will see what else pops up on the other two plants.