• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Another Dumb Question

Im Pretty New to learning that There is different varieties of One Pepper, Like I just noticed there is Not just Habaneros but there Is Sub Categories like White Habanero, Chocolate, Red Orange and Who Knows maybe Purple, but My question is "Do They all Have Different Tastes and Heat Levels?

I Never Came around any other than The Orange Habaneros and I Must Say they are Delicious but if Other Ones have different Taste Im in a Search Now!!

Yes, they are all different oroz. The different breeds of the same pepper are actually sometimes cultivated by agriculturists that make a living out of creating new types of peppers from the same strain. Take the orange habanero for instance, it has species that are naturally different in heat just because of the region it originated in. That does not necessarily make it a different pepper but the heat range and flavors can vary just like and vegetable that is cultivated in different regions. And then you have a cultivar like the red savina habanero which is a cross breed that was created to be larger and hotter than it's species of origin. This applies to all of the chiles under the sun. And there are many!

Believe Me I Wont, and Will Look foward too, and thanks for the Info Dannyboy Its Crazy how they can manipulate nature but in our favor I guess. I Learn Something Everyday. =]

I find that color seems to have the biggest correlation to taste, particularly in chinense strains. Yellow pods have a fruity flavor whereas brown ones have an earthy taste. Of course, they all still have differences so be sure to keep tasting new pods!