• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Anyone else growing dwarf tomatoes?

This is my first year growing in the PNW, and I wasn't really thrilled by the prospect of my first short growing season in 20 years.  I was a little put off by growing peppers this year, because I don't have tons of space, and I opted not to get a tent.  So I decided to get some tomatoes going.  But I didn't want full size tomato plants, so I decided to do a patio grow with dwarf tomatoes.  Some are varieties that I know and love, others are brand new to me.  I don't super love growing tomatoes in containers, but all in all, these have treated me pretty well, so far.
50164382446_d028310b76_c.jpg

Perennial favorite: Cherokee Tiger Dwarf
New favorites: Tasmanian Chocolate, Sweet Scarlet
I really like the huge rugose leaves of the Sweet Scarlet, and the Tasmanian Chocolate - while I haven't tasted them yet - were the first to develop fruit, and have really that really nice beefsteak shape, but in a smaller (yet still full) size.
Grow list:
Aftershock
Tasmanian Chocolate
Sweet Scarlet
Lime Green Salad
Velvet Night
Firebird Sweet
Cherokee Tiger Dwarf

Hi Solid!

First time grower of dwarf tomato plants here; I tried the Uluru Ochre, a yellownish-brown beefsteak variety that is supposed to be quite tasty! The seedlings were by far the healthiest looking of all the 14 strains I have this year, with thick stems and dark + luxurious green foliage. The strange thing is that they grew quite tall as you can see in my pics (my cages are 5 ft tall  x 2 ft wide)... Up to now the production is maybe a bit over average but summer isn't over yet!! I think I will give other dwarf a try in the upcoming years. Wish you a good harvest out of yours ;)

Attachments

• U-O.JPG
    U-O.JPG
    145.3 KB · Views: 138