• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Anyone Else Growing Orchids?

AlabamaJack

eXtreme
My wife's daughter sent her a White Orchid for her birthday and I am simply amazed at the beauty of this flower...

03-08-12001.jpg
03-08-12003.jpg
03-08-12004.jpg

I love orchids, though this is my first time growing one. I don't have a camera with me, but I have the exact same variety sitting next to me in the office. It's been holding its blossoms for a good 2 months now.

(FYI, I found it on a clearance rack for 3 bucks. A couple of months of care and it started putting out new buds. I think clearance racks are like plant crack to me- so many perfectly healthy plants that just need a good home...)

I've bought a couple orchids from the Lowe's clearance rack before but I can't seem to keep them alive at all.

Normally the issue is that they often plant them in plastic containers that restrict air flow to the roots. I just water it sparingly and deeply, letting them dry thoroughly between watering and making sure there isn't any water sitting in the tray after watering.

Orchids' roots are adapted to rapidly intake water and be exposed to open air. You'll often find the roots growing out of the surface of the pot with a healthy plant. They're very fragile though, so there are some difficulties in repotting without damaging the plant. "Orchid pots" have large openings throughout the pot to allow for air to flow freely, though I kind of wonder if you could reproduce the same effect with a normal pot and a large drill bit...