• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Anyone trying or tried global buckets?

I have some garden space, but because of my wind/climate conditions, I'm thinking about using both the garden and the global buckets (5Gal) system, along with using the global buckets soil mix.
Does anyone have experience with this, and how about the soil mix recommendation? The soil does not seem perfect for peppers, but, then again, I'm a newbie for pepper production.
I'm planning on giving it a try for a few varieties, and will report, but I have little to lose.

Great. Thanks for dusting off an old Post for me. Seems do-able, for a dozen or so buckets. I plan on running buckets and dirt (garden) trials for each of the varieties that I plan on growing. I have a few horse manure planters as well.

At least I have all winter to get my buckets drilled.

Garden dirt (soil) in buckets will fail you spectacularly.  Suggest to read the sticky post, "all about soil" in this forum.  It's a little convoluted, but it's a good place to start.  It's better to prime the mind to ask questions, then simply just to accept answers, anyway, right?

fishhead said:
Great. Thanks for dusting off an old Post for me. Seems do-able, for a dozen or so buckets. I plan on running buckets and dirt (garden) trials for each of the varieties that I plan on growing. I have a few horse manure planters as well.

At least I have all winter to get my buckets drilled.

Stumbled over this.> Global Buckets Home Page

solid7 said:
Garden dirt (soil) in buckets will fail you spectacularly.

At the page mentioned above are a few media recommendations.>Potting Mix Page

Solid7,