• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Aztekium ritteri seedlings

One of my other plant hobbies is growing cacti, and I grow a lot of them from seed.

Some species can grow quite quickly from seed and even flower within a couple years of being sown.

Others can be very slow and probably the slowest growing cactus species of them all is Aztekium ritteri.

This species grows an average of about 1mm in diameter per year, so to get a plant to one inch in diameter (25mm), on it's own roots versus being grafted onto a hardier rootstock to speed up growth, will take about 25 years.

And if you wanted to see it get to it's full adult size of about 2 inches in diameter, you might want to start this one from seed when you are quite young. :lol:

Here are some seedlings that I have been growing for over four years now.

IMG_5740-1.jpg

I uprooted them just to see what size roots they had under them, and then carefully repotted them again.

As you can see they are still very tiny and extremely slow growing.

dvg

Man Doug, you have some real patience to grow those for so long!
That takes some real dedication !

And here I thought some Chinense were slow growers!
:rofl:

Excellent photos man!

Kevin

Hi thought you may be interested in seeing some pictures of my seed grown Aztekium Ritterii over 14 years old ish as i am 28 and been growing cacti since i was 12. i keep my collection to just a few rare and unusual ones including Lophophoras.
IMG_1529-1.jpg

IMG_1520.jpg

IMG_1521.jpg

Get out your whitlin' knife, this could take a while!

Haha, I'd no doubt be burning through a few high quality steel knife blades aiting for these to get mature...

...but in the menatime I might get real good at other knife games like mumblety-peg or knife-between-the-fingers-real-fast... :rofl:

Man Doug, you have some real patience to grow those for so long!